Consolidated Board of Adjustment

This board consists of at least five members who are appointed by the County Commission to serve two-year terms. This board serves the Gallatin County/Bozeman Area, South Cottonwood Canyon, Reese Creek, Four Corners, East Gallatin,and North Gallatin Canyon zoning districts.
The charge of this board, according to Section 76-2-221 through 76-2-228, MCA, is to hear and decide appeals where it is alleged there is error in any order, requirement, decision or determination made by an administrative official in the enforcement of the 76-2-201, MCA; and to authorize, in specific cases, such variance from the terms of title 76-2-201, MCA, as will not be contrary to the public interest, where owing to special conditions, a literal enforcement of the provisions will result in unnecessary hardship so that the spirit of this title shall be observed and substantial justice done. They may deny, approve or conditionally approve all request for variances due to hardship, including requests to modify dimensional requirements and multiple variances. The County Planning Department provides staffing to this board.
Approved meeting minutes are available in the Planning Department.
Contact the County Commission Office at 406-582-3000 for Board Applications.

Board Members

Sandra Maher
Jennifer Boyer
Jeff Boyle
Katie Walsh