Solid Waste Management District

This board seats five members (Commissioner representation term rotates annually) each serving a three-year term.

The purpose of the Gallatin County Solid Waste Management District is: 

  • to provide constituents with cost efficient solid waste services;
  • to provide for the balanced consideration and representation of the diverse views and issues regarding solid waste management;
  • to advocate for the health, safety and welfare of the residents;
  • to manage the processing, reclaiming, storing, transporting, or disposing of waste in ways that protect the ecology of lands in the District;
  • to identify goals, policies and procedures that will aid local jurisdictions in meeting solid waste reduction and recycling goals.


NameTermPhone Number
Don Seifert

Annual Appointment

(406) 582-3000

Lance Johnson

June 2020

Phil Ideson

June 2021

David Hanson

June 2019

Joseph Hauck

June 2021

Kevin Handelin

June 2020