In-person Concealed Weapon Permit applications and renewals have been temporarily suspended but we have a new process to make sure your requests are taken care of.
Temporary instructions for applying for or renewing concealed weapon permits
Concealed Weapon Permit forms are available for downloading, or you can pick them up in the Law & Justice Center lobby.
To download forms, go to the Attachments at the bottom of this page and select the appropriate Form. It will download to your computer. You can fill in the form on your computer and print it, or print it and fill it in by hand. Please DO NOT SIGN it.
At this time we do not have the ability to take your payment online so the forms and payment must be returned by mail or in person. Mail forms and payment to:
Gallatin County Sheriff’s Office
ATTN: Concealed Weapons
615 S. 16th Ave.
Bozeman, MT 59715
Or drop them off at the Law and Justice Center Lobby between 9 a.m. and 4 p.m., Monday through Friday.
Once we receive your forms, we will conduct a background check. When the background check is finished, we will contact you to come to the Law and Justice Center for a photo and signature on the form. The form MUST be signed in front of a Sheriff’s designee. Once the card is finished, it will be mailed to you.
NEW APPLICATIONS: Use the Application Form for new applications, renewals from other counties/states, or if your Gallatin County renewal has been expired longer than 90 days. You must be a MT resident for 6 months and have a current Gallatin County address. Fill out all information but DO NOT SIGN.
You will need to provide
- A copy of your MT Driver’s License. If your Driver’s License shows an out-of-county address, you will need to provide proof of residency in Gallatin County, such as a copy of mortgage on address, power bill, rental agreement, etc.
- A copy of your certification – Gun safety class, DD214, or Hunter Safety certificate.
- Payment of cash or check for $50.
Current military – please send an email to: CWP@gallatin.mt.gov for instructions.
RENEWALS: Use the Renewal Form if you are a current Gallatin County permit holder and your permit is not yet expired or has been expired for less than 90 days. Fill out all information but DO NOT SIGN.
You will need to provide:
- A copy of your MT Driver’s License, and a copy of your current/recently expired permit.
- Payment of cash or check for $25.
STATUS CHECKS: To ask questions or check on the status of your previously submitted permit, email CWP@gallatin.mt.gov. Please be patient with status checks. This email is not monitored every day and we are trying to catch up with the applications that were submitted before the suspension.
We apologize for any delay in concealed weapon application and renewals.
See below for more general information on Concealed Weapon Permits.
- Resident in Montana for six months
- 18 years of age
- Written documentation of firearms training - DD214. Hunter's Safety Course or Handgun Safety Course (list available at the Law & Justice Center Front Lobby Window) Online handgun courses are NOT accepted as a handgun safety course for concealed weapon permits.
- No criminal record
- Possess a Montana Drivers License or State ID
- Initial cost is $50, nonrefundable. Renewal cost is $25, nonrefundable.
- CASH OR CHECK ONLY
- Valid for four years, however, it can be revoked at any time.
- You are responsible for costs of handgun safety course.
- At the Lobby Window in the Law & Justice Center located at 615 S. 16th Ave. in Bozeman, you may pay your fee (cash or check only), receive your receipt of payment and pick up your application.
- You must present proof of a handgun safety course, DD214 or Hunter’s Safety Course at the time you submit your application.
- The application must be signed in front of Front Window Sheriff’s witness.
- An extensive background check will be run on each individual. Each file must be checked and approved by the Sheriff and Undersheriff before formal processing is begun.
- The above process including renewals will take six to eight weeks to complete.
- Any peace officer in the State of Montana
- Any officer of the U.S. Government authorized to carry a concealed weapon
- A person in actual service as a National Guardsman
- A person summoned to the aid of any of the persons named in subsection 1-3
- A civil officer or his deputy engaged in the discharge of official business
- A probation or parole officer authorized to carry a firearm
- A person issued a permit
- An agent of the Department of Justice or a criminal investigator in the County Attorney’s Office
- A person who is outside the official boundaries of a city or town or the confines of a logging, lumbering, mining or railroad camp or who is lawfully engaged in hunting, fishing, trapping, camping, or other activity in which weapons are often carried for recreation or protection
- The carrying of arms on one’s own premises or at one’s home or place of business