Burn Permit Service

The Open Burning season runs from March 1 through November 30.
Residents of Gallatin County can obtain a burn permit online.
The online service allows you to:
  • Purchase or activate a permit
  • Add multiple burn locations to a single permit
  • Print and/or email your permit
  • View active burns within the county
  • Pay with a debit/credit card or an electronic check
  • Activate your permit online or by calling 1-(877) 306-BURN (2876)
Permits can be purchased online
Please Note:  The on-line service is managed by the State of Montana, not Gallatin County
Residents may still purchase a burn permit in person
at the following locations:
Bozeman Fire Station #1  --  34 North Rouse, Bozeman
Central Valley Fire District Station #1  --  205 East Main, Belgrade
Gallatin County Treasurer's Office  --  311 West Main - Room 103, Bozeman
Hebgen Basin Fire District Station #1  --  400 Yellowstone, West Yellowstone
Manhattan Fire Department  --  222 Main, Manhattan
Three Forks Public Library  --  607 North Main, Three Forks  
Burn permits cost $15.00 each and can be used
throughout the entire burn season.  
If you have questions, comments, or concerns, please call
Gallatin County Rural Fire at (406) 548-0144.