Patrol Division

Patrol VehicleThe Patrol Division currently consists of 44 sworn positions in three detachments. Resident deputies are assigned to Big Sky/West Yellowstone and West End (Manhattan/Three Forks).

Deputies assigned to the greater Gallatin Valley area primarily serve the communities and neighborhoods around Bozeman, Belgrade, Manhattan, Logan, Gallatin Gateway, Four Corners, Churchill, Amsterdam, Maudlow, Clarkston, and Sedan. We also work closely with Bozeman, Belgrade, and Manhattan police departments.

Police Rescue Operation

Law Enforcement Activities

Night ShootWe operate two K-9 teams. Over the last several years we have instituted a Bike Patrol Team, and a Marine Patrol program aimed at promoting boating safety on Hebgen Lake near West Yellowstone. We also have two deputies assigned to Mounted Patrol.

Our patrol deputies handle most prisoner transports along with fielding calls for service and performing general patrol duties and traffic enforcement.

Staff Contacts

Dan McDonough

Patrol Captain