Skip Navigation
           
State of Montana Website
Welcome to Gallatin County
Gallatin County Home
Amsterdam
Spacer
Belgrade
Spacer
Big Sky
Spacer
Bozeman
Spacer
Four Corners
Spacer
Gallatin Gateway
Spacer
Manhattan
Spacer
Three Forks
Spacer
Yellowstone
This table is used for column layout.


Job Openings

Titling - Forms & Instructions
Instructions when Purchasing:

From a Dealer:
  • Check with your dealer to make sure the title work has been sent to the courthouse prior to coming in.
  • Bring in your purchase agreement so we can research (if necessary).
  • If you have a loan, separate from the dealership, bring in a signed copy of the loan papers.
  • Bring your Montana Driver's License when you come to process the title.
From a Private Party:

1.  Montana title:
  • If the lien is still showing on the title, a lien release is required.
  • If the seller says the lien has been cleared check with us at (406) 582-3080 to make sure that is the case. You can also fax us at (406) 582-3082 or e-mail.
  • Make sure all persons appearing on the face of the title have signed off in front of a notary.
  • If you have a question about the title please fax the front and back of the title to (406) 582-3082 with your question and we will look it over prior to titling.
  • Bring your Montana Driver's License when you come to process the title.
2.  Out of state title:
  • Make sure the title is properly signed off according to the rules of the state the title was issued from.
  • Make sure you have a lien release if the lien is still showing on the title.
  • If you have a question about the title, please fax the front and back of the title to (406) 582-3082 with your question and we will look it over prior to titling.
  • You will need to have a Montana application for title.  This application can be downloaded from https://dojmt.gov/driving/vehicle-title-registration-forms/ (Form MV1 -  scroll down to find form) or we will complete the form when you come into our office.
  • Bring your Montana Driver's License when you come to process the title.

Moving to Montana
  • Montana Driver's License or proof of residency.  Proof of residency:
  • Property tax statement in the name of the registered owner of vehicle, or,
  • Current lease or rental agreement from a Montana property owner.
  • Montana State Law requires people moving to Montana obtain a driver's license within 30 days and registering their vehicle(s) within 60 days.
  • Bring in the out of state title.  If there is more than one (1) name on the out of state title, only one (1) needs to sign documents to title the vehicle.
  • If the title is held by a lien holder, you will need to bring in a registration to obtain a 40 day permit to drive and a form to send to your lien holder. The form can be obtained from the County Motor Vehicle Office or online https://dojmt.gov/driving/vehicle-title-registration-forms/ (Form MV63 - scroll down to find form).


Title work can only be completed in person
or by a registered agent.  

      Web Services Provided By:
Gallatin County, Montana
311 West Main Street
Bozeman, MT 59715